Life as a Telecommunications Student

Other than saying yes to Rob, one of the greatest decisions I have ever made is to be apart of the greatest college at the University of Florida. The J-School has it all. There are loads of opportunities for experience and for networking. Also, for making amazing friends. I have never been more stressed or more happy than when I have been a part of this fantastic college.

The College of Journalism and Communications  is so hands on. My first day here I met with Renee Gork who signed me up to volunteer for the radio reading service and within my first month as a UF J-school student I was reading live on-air. That just doesn’t happen at other schools. The Radio Reading service gave me such great practice and the next semester I got the opportunity to produce their show about politics, combining my two great loves, news and political science.
The ability to be so hands on and publish your own work is fantastic. While working for WUFT-FM I had so many amazing opportunities for experience. My first day in the station I produced the piece, “Marion County neighborhood has ‘Guts’ against violence”,  and my love for radio was born. I have never felt so amazing and in control, than when I am writing a news story. It gives me such great pride to take responsibility of my work, because I know I am responsible for the facts and for the information the pubic receives.

The New Integrated Newsroom is probably my favorite part about the J-school. It is so open and radio, television and web students can collaborate freely and easily about how to make our news delivery the best. All of the equipment is wonderful and there is just a much warmer and happier environment when working. The Center for Media, Innovation and Research is dedicated to developing journalism and communication here at the University and the digital labs show it. There are so many wonderful opportunities in these labs to get involved and work with state of the art facilities. I think everything happening in the J-school right now is so beneficial to the future of every student. I am so blessed to have had the opportunity to work for an award winning radio and television station and leave my mark here. I know that no matter what, my stories will at least live on here in archive.

Some of my favorite moments as a student in the College of Journalism in Communications are:

46288_4614567291300_1761273654_n

 

All of the wonderful experience that I have gotten. I know how to produce a radio show, write a news story effectively, work the camera, and successfully interview people. I wouldn’t trade the experience that I have gotten at UF for anything. Using the equipment and gaining real world experience are hands down the best things about being a student.

296359_10150286012210978_768415113_n

 

All of the wonderful people I have had the opportunity to meet and network with. In this picture I am standing with CBS Videographer Les Rose who has worked with CBS Reporter Steve Hartmann and filmed some of my absolute favorite news series’. I still keep in contact with Les and I have used him as a reference on my resume’ several times. UF gave me this awesome contact!

71472_3270157028155_1523532283_n

The ability to study abroad with the College of Journalism and Communications was one of the best experiences of my life. I took actually J-school classes in Spain and Greece and I met wonderful people. I loved that the professors traveled with us because it gave us all the chance to hang out with them in a less stressed environment and really get to know them for the awesome people they are. This trip also helped me to gain contacts with them, as well as, get real world experience by getting out of the little bubble I usually live in. We got to visit a news station in Catalonia, Spain and learn about ethics overlooking the beaches of Mykonos, Greece. It was such a great opportunity to be with my college and share our Gator pride over the pond.

 

I would advise anyone and everyone to be a student in this college. I knew as soon as I got my acceptance letter that this is where I wanted to come. However, to my friends who are on the fence about it, I always say, just walk through the integrated newsroom and CMIR Digital Lab and I promise you will fall in love.

Leave a comment